Holy men and Humor

I have a good friend who I’ve known for many years now. He’s a great guy, as is his family and I only wish we still lived in the same area. Back when I lived in New Hampshire the two of us used to get together fairly frequently and waste hefty amounts of time enjoying bizarre and eclectic movies or quizzing each other about ridiculous minutia of dubious fact. We both have a particular love of the obscure, and if you can serve that obscurity up with nice, big side dishes of history and silliness, so much the better. We’ve had a lot of fun trying to “out bizarre” each other with strange and edifying material collected from the bottom of old, moldy trunks, long forgotten in half collapsed barns. Needless to say, I always enjoy getting email from him. For this blog, I’ll refer to him simply as “Number 6” for reasons that make perfect sense to me and anyone else who knows him. I’ve been keeping an eye out for a black blazer with white trimmed lapels for him but so far, no luck.

It was Number 6 who emailed me the link to “The Elders” web site. He also sent me a picture, titled “A Couple of Real Jokers”. The photo was taken at a discussion involving not only the Dali Lama, but also the Bishop, Desmond Tutu. In the picture, The Dali Lama is pointing at Bishop Tutu in a conspiratorial kind of way and both are laughing. I have profound respect for these two men and would have LOVED to be in the audience, or at the very least, watched it on TV. I think the predominant reason that I like these two individuals so much is their sense of humor and humility, not to mention the honor in which they live their lives.

Now here’s the thing. I have great respect for these two public figures. Number 6 however, sent me the picture with the question, “What do you suppose was so funny?”, and this is where my brain switches to “default” mode. For me, “default” is “silly mode”. High brow it’s not, but my instant reaction was…

I couldn’t resist.

What I hope… and I think I’m right here, is that the two honorable gentlemen in question would find it funny too. I like to think they would…

I would, anyway.

3 Responses

  1. I’d have gone for the “Hey, your fly is open!” myself.

  2. I’ve actually met the Dalai Lama 😀

  3. Wow. That is impressive! I would love the opportunity to meet him. I have a great deal of respect for both these men.

Leave a Reply

