Badger, badger, badger, badger, MUSHROOM, MUSHROOM!

My mind is slightly bent. I don’t know when this happened or how, exactly. I can take an educated guess that the steady diet of Benny Hill, Monty Python and Dr. Demento in my youth had something to do with it, but I also think it was just part of the way I came wired. It can be a tricky thing at times and my outward appearance probably doesn’t help me out when it comes to trying not to confuse/weird-out the locals.

I don’t look very odd, so far as I can tell. I have a normal, short hair cut (quite short in the summer). My usual daily dress is Carhart shorts, t-shirt with a some what odd print on it, a worn, unbuttoned flannel shirt and Teva sandals. Oh… And a hat. If I’m out side, you can just about bank on a baseball hat. The one I have today is from a trip to Hawaii and has a volcano on it. Nothing too odd there.

It’s the silliness that my mind defaults to that makes life interesting for me, and I suppose, for those standing nearby who are paying attention. To put it another way, I’ve never felt the need to partake in recreational drug use because quite honestly, that’s the way my brain works all the time. That, and the fact that I didn’t dare kill off any brain cells. I need all the cells I can get and if I’m going to put any of them in front of a firing squad, I was determined to use high quality alcohol as my weapon of choice. Each to their own. The bottom line is, seeing the world like a “normal” person takes effort for me.

So one morning, as I dragged my bent mind, kicking and screaming to work, I happened upon something that, figuratively speaking, tickled me.

It was a bit of a cardboard box that had once held mushrooms and it was sitting on a short flight of stairs in the alley next to a popular restaurant. Obviously, it had fallen out of a garbage can on the way to the dumpster out back, but it sported a print of two, little blue mushrooms on it and it made me stop and smile. I took a few steps away, stopped, turned around and picked it up. What next?

Lately, the city has been doing its bit to dress up its more forgotten parts. This alley had until recently been graced with a set of rotting wooden stairs that led from the main street, down to the parking lot below. The steps had been ripped out an replaced with nice granite ones, complete with a small flower garden to one side. The gardener in charge of it had gone out of her way to give it a “woodland” feel, complete with moss and bits off rotting logs. Perfect.

I took my little bit of found art and carefully nestled it in behind a log so it just peeked out at a jaunty angle. Just after I took the picture, a man wandered along, saw it and laughed. That made my day. It stayed there for at least three weeks.

A few days ago I noticed that the gardeners had been back to do some more work and that my mushrooms were gone. The very next day (and I’m assuming here) someone from the restaurant had noticed it missing as well. They were kind enough to replace it with another little cardboard cut out mushroom from another box. It’s good to know you’re not alone when it come to odd shaped humor.

I could get into this kind of gardening!

By the way… for those of you who don’t understand the title of this post, here’s the explanation. I’ll take no blame for the earworm. You have been warned.

5 Responses

  1. I could get into that kind of gardening too!

    Liked the badgers and mushrooms, but not the snake.

    I think I’d rather find a snake in the garden than a badger. Those things are vicious!
    -TP

  2. I can soooo relate!!! Love the badgers. I bet you like these too:

    and

    http://www.break.com/index/every-day-normal-guy-rap-song.html

    R-rating for language. I think you can handle it.

    OW! My virgin ears! Ha! Those were great. I’m going to be playing them both through my head for days.
    -TP

  3. Hey Mushroom Man, sorry but I have memed you. They made me do it.

    http://nathaliewithanh.wordpress.com/2008/06/23/mon-six-word-memoir-or-epitaph/

    I apologize for the inconvenience.

  4. snaaaaake
    snaaaaaaaaaaake

    that’s a nice and friendly casual “urban intervention”.
    sorry to hear they disappeared after some weeks, but maybe someone else also had your idea, you know? and took both of them to meet a new part of town. it’s a living city after all.

    really liked the warning sign by the way.

    Welcome to the blog!
    I like hidden stuff like this. It never fails to make me happy! I like the idea of it traveling to new venues as well. Kind of like an itinerant garden gnome.
    -TP

  5. I enjoyed the mushroom humor but even more I enjoyed the quiet camaraderie that made someone else tuck in another mushroom image–quiet, cozy humor–not bent at all, just very subtle.

    Thanks! It made my day that someone replaced it, too. I wish I had snapped a pic of that!
    -TP

Leave a Reply

