2/27/05 – To Unlock

Monday poem, A Year and a Day

2/27/05 – To Unlock

How evocative a key can be.

We see them everywhere and they jingle in a familiar way which we know without ever having to guess.

It is something unique in all our lives.

But what are they and what have they been? Some flat, short, two sided or dimpled.

I look at the loop of keys on my desk and I can see the places they each unlock.

The standard, ubiquitous key to the front door at work. The diminutive brass keys to fit padlocks on sheds back home. A large, old fashioned skeleton key which turns the bolt on my front door. Even the keyless key that locks the car when I fish for the chapstick in my coat pocket.

“Ka-Click” Damn it!

It feels wrong to throw away a key. It is the thing that opens a special place. The thing that grants you privileges closed to others.

It seems that a key is the small piece of somewhere you can take with you.

It does so much more than turn a lock.

It is a reminder of privacy.

3 Responses

    • Thanks! I think they get better as I go along. It took me a while to get into the swing of it. It’ll take me a while at one per week to get to the better stuff.

      -TP

  1. I like this one too!

    “I look at the loop of keys on my desk and I can see the places they each unlock.”

    Other people’s keys don’t mean anything to me: just my own. They are commonly unique for some reason.

Leave a Reply

