Thirty Days ’till Launch

I’m going to do something a little different here for a while. Most of my posts are one-off thoughts or memories and often simply funny stuff or cute stories about the kids. In the past, I’d write two to three stories a week but over the last year, I’ve been lucky to get more than a couple a month out.

I’ve been feeling like It’s time to kick the writing into high gear if I’m ever going to do this thing properly. I just needed a good foundation to build on. I think I’ve found it. In thirty days, my son and I are heading off on our first “father/son” trip, all the way to Florida to watch one of the last Space Shuttle launches. It’s going to be a momentous thing for both of us and I can’t wait for it. I’m pretty sure he can’t either. What I’m hoping to do is write like hell about this, my own memories that the trip kicks off and the reflections on this last year of being a stay at home dad. With some luck and determination, I just might have enough material at the end of thirty days to wrap it together and call it a book. We shall see.

If not… well… I will be a great journal for rereading some day.

The posts might get a little long winded since I’ll essentially be going “on and on” and editing on the fly, but please bear with me. I’ll do my best to keep it interesting and relevant. As always, feel free to comment and I’ll try and reply in a semi-coherent way. These posts should be a lot longer and come a lot faster. At least, that’s what I hope. Let’s try it out and see what happens.

-TP

6 Responses

  1. Fun idea – Olivia is also really interested in the space shuttle… probably because i keep foisting my ‘girls can be good at math and science and save the world’ agenda on her.

    But whatever, it sounds like a great trip, and a great project for the blog!

    • Well, if Olivia is really excited about the Shuttle and space than we need to get these two together again. They will have PLENTY of material to chat about. Short Stack now has a complete solar system in his bed room and pretty much lives on the NASA web site.

      I’ve been using his passion to push learning how to do stuff as well. “You know, Buddy, if you want to be an astronaut than you need to be able to do …” Works wonders!

  2. I’ll read it.
    Is it going to be like “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance” … but about rockets? hee hee!

    Have fun!

    note to myself: some other people are lucky bastards sometimes.

  3. That is amazing! What incredible memories you’re about to give your son. I can’t wait to read along…

Leave a Reply

